October means MONSTER STORYTIME!

21 Oct

Last fall, I posted the plan to my monster-themed storytime, that I do around this time every year.  It’s a lot of fun for me, and, I think, the kids, too.

I wanted to add a couple of new additions for this year:

  • McCarty, Peter. Jeremy Draws a Monster. When Jeremy draws a monster, he soon realizes his mistake when the monster asks him to draw item after item: a sandwich, a comfortable chair, a television. But Jeremy’s pen also yields the solution in this non-scary monster book. I don’t THINK I really do voices, but when I read this one for the first time, the monster’s voice came out of me so clearly. It’s a sort of slightly-gruffer, more-enunciated Grover voice.
  • I like this rhyme:

If I were a happy  monster, I’d go HA! HA! HA!

If I were a sad monster, I’d go BOO HOO HOO.

If I were a mad monster, I’d go STOMP! STOMP! STOMP!

If I were a scared monster, I’d go AHH! AHH! AHH!

But I’m just me, you see, so I’ll just READ, READ, READ. (open and close hands like a book)

I hope you’re all having fun with your little monsters (and I’m not referring to the Lady Gaga kind)!

3 Responses to “October means MONSTER STORYTIME!”

  1. Laina October 25, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    I used Leonardo for my Monster storytime, too!! Though it ended up being more of a spooky/scary type thing… but we had fun 🙂

  2. Anne October 21, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    Good picks! I also use a big book version of There’s a Nightmare in my Closet by Mercer Mayer, which has been a big hit.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Storytime Blogs and Their Themes | Dandelions & Roses - June 23, 2015

    […] Gray Animals, Cats & Dogs, Dinosaurs, Feelings, Fish, Frogs, Hungry Storytime, Mice, Monsters, Music & Movement, Rhyming, Sharks, […]

Leave a comment