Flannel Friday! Baby Duck, Are You In the Blue Egg?

18 Mar

My friend Melissa over at Mel’s Desk decided to start writing a “Flannel Friday” post – every Friday, she will feature a new flannelboard story that she has used in storytime.  She mentioned this on twitter, and shortly thereafter, Anne at So Tomorrow decided to join in the fun. Not wanting to be left behind, I decided I wanted to contribute as well!

Here’s my inaugural Flannel Friday post, which, appropriately enough, comes from Melissa herself and is related to Anne’s post (the concept is the same).

Unhatched eggs

Here we see eight eggs of varying colors. If my group is small enough, we take turns choosing a color (otherwise I choose an egg and they tell me the color) and then I “crack” the egg open to see if a baby duck is inside! Before looking, we say this:

Baby duck, baby duck, are you in the [color] egg?

A dramatic pause always helps at this point, and I open the egg with a “gasp!”. If the duck isn’t inside, we move on to the next child who chooses a color.

Baby duck, baby duck, are you in the PINK egg?

 

Fuschia, really.

There he is!  Just to increase the sillyness factor, I added a couple of “surprises” for us to find in the eggs:

 

How did that FROG get in there?

If we find the duck before each child has had a chance to choose an egg, I turn the board around and put the eggs back together, moving the duck to another color. I ask the kids to close their eyes (no peeking!) and I made up a little song to remind them. To the tune of “London Bridge”:

Everybody close your eyes,

close your eyes,

close your eyes,

everybody close your eyes,

We’re not peeking.

Everybody keep them closed,

keep them closed,

keep them closed,

everybody keep them closed,

No one’s peeking.

Besides the obvious fun, there are several benefits to doing a flannel like this:

  • Learning colors (or patterns – eggs could be striped, or dotted, etc.)
  • Learning to take turns (if each child gets to choose a color)
  • The chanting rhyme helps with phonological awareness, as children learn to hear the smaller sounds that make up a word.
  • You might also count the eggs to practice those skills. How many are cracked? How many are still whole?

This is great fun that the children and I have enjoyed very much. In fact, today, when we found the baby duck, a child was SO excited she began to cry. Wow. That’s powerful.

14 Responses to “Flannel Friday! Baby Duck, Are You In the Blue Egg?”

  1. Tracey March 20, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    I LOVE the no peeking song! And the idea of hiding someone/thing else in the eggs is fabulous! I have done this with little mouse little mouse are you in the (color) house, but how much fun is the egg/duck, and I love how colorful the eggs are!

  2. MelissaZD March 18, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Yahoo! I am totally stealing your No Peeking song RIGHT NOW. And what a good idea to put little treasures in some of the other eggs!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Few of My Favorite Themes: Dinosaurs - May 21, 2018

    […] Click on the photos below to be taken to the PDF of the flannelboard templates. The first one is One Dinosaur Went Out to Play by Mel’s Desk, and the other is a baby dinosaur template that is a total rip-off of the baby duck flannelboard by Miss Mary Liberry. […]

  2. Toddler Storytime: Cats – Storytime Station - July 26, 2017

    […] Activity: Hide & Seek Game (Baby Bird, Baby Bird) One of our favorite activities, courtesy of  Miss Mary Liberry. On a […]

  3. Toddler Storytime: Hide & Seek – Storytime Station - May 18, 2017

    […] of my group’s favorite activities is our hide-and-seek flannel board, inspired by this project from Miss Merry Liberry. They love it so much, as well as searching for hidden objects in our other […]

  4. Toddler Storytime: Rabbits – Storytime Station - April 13, 2017

    […] Activity: Peek-a-Boo Bunny Game (Baby Bird, Baby Bird) A great activity from Miss Mary Liberry. I tried this in my baby themed […]

  5. Toddler Storytime: Spring – Storytime Station - March 16, 2017

    […] Activity: Baby Bird, Baby Bird A great activity from Miss Mary Liberry. I tried this in my baby themed storytime a few weeks ago, […]

  6. Toddler Storytime: Babies! – Storytime Station - February 23, 2017

    […] Activity: “Baby Duck, Baby Duck” A great activity from Miss Mary Liberry. I made eight different colored eggs, and hid a picture of […]

  7. Baby Duck, Baby Duck | Professional Devolution - April 25, 2016

    […] on Miss Mary Liberry‘s […]

  8. Storytime: Library / Books | Read with Mich - February 22, 2016

    […] Everybody Close Your Eyes (Tune: London Bridge) Everybody close your eyes Close your eyes, close your eyes Everybody close your eyes We’re not peeking Source: Miss Mary Liberry […]

  9. SLC Book Boy - December 4, 2013

    […] Tune: London Bridge (from Miss Mary Liberry) […]

  10. Books! | itsybitsymom - September 19, 2013

    […] When my volunteer buddy was hiding the Wiggleworm for the second round we sang the “Everybody Close Your Eyes” song that I found at this awesome site:  https://missmaryliberry.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/flannel-friday-baby-duck-are-you-in-the-blue-egg/ […]

  11. Toddler Time: Peek-a-Boo! | Falling Flannelboards - April 24, 2013

    […] BABY DUCK Credit:  Miss Mary Liberry […]

  12. “Eggstrodinary” Egg Storytime | Bnielson's Weblog - April 13, 2013

    […] Other flannels to try: Read it Again’s Where’s My Egg? Miss Mary Liberry’s Baby Duck, Are you in the Blue Egg? […]

Leave a comment