Flannel Friday: Little White Duck

26 Aug

How many of you storytimers out there know the classic Burl Ives song “Little White Duck”? You know Burl Ives, right? The guy who was the snowman on the classic “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” stop-motion animation tv special? I’ve found a lot of the preschool teachers I work with either haven’t heard it, or haven’t sung it in years. It’s a lovely song, and, strangely enough, I find it has a hypnotic effect on small children. When I sing it, with this flannelboard, they sit quietly, paying rapt attention. I can’t explain it.

Here’s a video of this fun song:

And here’s my flannel version:

One by one, the duck, frog, and bug come into the scene. Then, that darn snake has to go and ruin everything!

Mine's blue because I didn't have red felt at the time I made him.

I slide my blue snake across the board, and as he scares the duck and frog they each make a noise and then disappear. Snake slides over the bug as he “eats” him, and then slinks off the board and behind.

I make a big show of boo-hooing at the end, when there’s nobody left.

I use this flannel for my “frog and friends” storytime, but it would certainly fit a lot of other themes! If you’re not confident of your singing ability (although the children are completely non-judgemental and would not at all mind if you tried!) you can get the song on this cd. I also found a Danny Kaye version, which is completely awesome.

Visit Miss Mollie later today for the full Flannel Friday Roundup!

5 Responses to “Flannel Friday: Little White Duck”

  1. nikarella August 27, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I love Burl Ives!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Library Quine August 27, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    Lovely characters – frog is my favourite!

  3. Katie August 26, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I have NEVER heard this song, but I LOVE it! And you are 100% correct about kids not judging you or caring.

  4. missmaryliberry August 26, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    I do a solo. I love to sing too, and have a fairly decent voice (if I do say so myself) from singing in choirs my whole life.

  5. sharon August 26, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    i love singing in story time. Do you have Mr. Ives singing with you or are you going solo?

Leave a comment