Flannel Friday: Mortimer by Robert Munsch

23 Sep

As I promised Tuesday, here’s a flannelboard version of Robert Munsch’s story Mortimer. All of the images are from microsoft clipart, and the stairs are felt.

Here’s Mortimer, ready for bed:

After Mortimer “makes his noise” (CLANG! CLANG! RATTLE-BING-BANG!), his mom, and then his dad, come up the stairs (STOMP STOMP STOMP) and tell him to GO TO SLEEP!* (I added the word bubble for extra print awareness and to cue the kids to say it with me):

After promising to quiet down, Mortimer continues to make noise, even after his sisters, and then the neighbors, come up and tell him to GO TO SLEEP!:

Finally, the police show up and also try to get Mortimer to GO TO SLEEP!:

But of course, Mortimer finally has to tell THEM to be quiet so he can GO TO SLEEP!

*When I made the flannelboard I remembered the story saying “GO TO SLEEP!”; it actually says “BE QUIET!”. I didn’t have time to make that piece. I’ll probably change it, but I think “go to sleep” works fine too. Also, Munsch’s story ends with Mortimer falling asleep, but a former colleague of mine ended it with Mortimer telling everyone to BE QUIET which I think is funnier.

Here’s the video of Robert Munsch reading the book so that you can learn the REAL story:

 

Check back HERE later today for the full Flannel Friday roundup!

4 Responses to “Flannel Friday: Mortimer by Robert Munsch”

  1. Library quine September 25, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    I think I like your version better!

  2. Andrea September 23, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Great idea! I love Mortimer. Stephanie’s Ponytail is another Munsch favourite of mine.

  3. 1234 More Storytimes September 23, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    Hi Miss Mary, My flannel friday is up! Little Bear, What Will You Wear? http://wp.me/p1wMMl-6e

    Thanks much for hosting this week!

  4. Anne (@sotomorrow) September 23, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    I am totally with you on being a fan of some of Munsch’s work but hating on Love You Forever. It creeps me out. This is a great, simple flannelboard. I think I will give it a try!

Leave a comment