Flannel Friday: See You Later, Alligator

24 Feb

We’ve been reading rhyming stories this week. It’s late enough in the school year that many of the older preschoolers will have started getting rhymes and can really participate in the stories. The younger kids still have trouble – they have an easier time with beginning sounds – but they still enjoy the storytime just as much.

I have a Frog puppet, Freddy, who says he “likes to rhyme all the time!” I think I had him say “see you later, alligator!” to a group of kids, and that reminded me that I had seen a whole list of these animal rhymes on Pinterest. I decided to make this into a flannelboard that we can use at the end of storytime to say goodbye to Freddy.

First, we name the animals. There’s an alligator (from a previous flannel I made), a crocodile, and a raccoon:

(Paint was still wet on the crocodile so he had to sit on paper)

Also a ladybug, butterfly, and jellyfish:

Next, I have our list of beginning phrases. We read them all, and I run my finger under each phrase from left to right (building print awareness!). This is just a more rigid piece of 8 1/2 x 11 felt with the words written in puff paint:

Finally we match each animal with its rhyming phrase, and say the whole thing as a goodbye to Freddy. I matched the color of the words to the dominant color of the animal to add even more recognition:

You could add a lot more animals (“Out the door, dinosaur!” Toodle-oo, Kangaroo!) but I didn’t have time (or space) to do more. Of course, many of us have a stock of felt animals that can be used in lots of different stories – so you’d just have to make the words. And the jellyfish. Who already has a jellyfish?

Visit Busy Crafting Mommy later today for the full roundup, or check out the pinterest page for all past Flannels (icon to the right). Happy flanneling, y’all!

 

10 Responses to “Flannel Friday: See You Later, Alligator”

  1. 1234 More Storytimes March 2, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    This is awesome! I love this so much. I am definitely going to borrow this idea.

  2. shawnwolf February 25, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    I saw that on Pinterest too. What a great way to use it. I would love to hear more about Freddy. I teach preschool and use an owl named Ziggy. I think he likes to rhyme all the time too.

  3. fallingflannelboards February 24, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    My storytime kids will love this one! And I’m forever harping on about the benefits of rhymes to the mothers, so this will be a great one to share in storytime. Thank you so much!

  4. Library Quine February 24, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    I like the colour-matching element too, what a great idea!

  5. K @ Storytime Fun February 24, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I have a jellyfish, too! And what a wonderful way to use her more often. 🙂

    Very cute idea, Mary! I love your puffy paint details. I’m not very good with puffy paint so I really admire someone who can use it to add details so beautifully! Another flannel to add to my ever-growing list…

    THANKS for sharing!

  6. missmaryliberry February 24, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    Of COURSE you do, Anne! Why didn’t I think of that? 🙂

  7. Sharon February 24, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    I really like this Mary. Thanks for thinking of it!!

  8. Anne (@sotomorrow) February 24, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    I have a jellyfish for I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Birthday, Flannel Friday! | 1234 More Storytimes - March 14, 2014

    […] See You Later, Alligator   (Miss Mary Liberry) Ten Fluffy Chickens   (Storytime Katie) Ten Turtles   (Artistic Literacy) Shark in the Park   (Thrive After Three) Five Green and Speckled Frogs   (Mel’s Desk) Ten Flashing Fireflies  (Catch the Possibilities) Cake Circles and Clothespins  (Mel’s Desk) Gumballs in a Dish  (Story Time Secrets) […]

  2. Flannel Friday Roundup – 2/24/12 | Busy Crafting Mommy - February 24, 2012

    […] Mary’s blog Miss Mary Liberry you will find a really cute rendition of “See You Later Alligator” I love how she wrote […]

Leave a comment