Flannel Friday: There Was a Young Woman Who Rode in a Car

20 Apr

After a FAR TOO LONG hiatus, I’m back on the Flannel Friday bandwagon! Life (personal and professional) got way too busy, and I didn’t have any new flannels to share. I do have a cool idea for sharing songs that I’d like to post at some time in the not-too-distant future, though, so look for that soon.

My return to FF marks my first ORIGINAL rhyme! I was thinking about “There Was an Old Woman Who Swallowed a Fly” (and how much I enjoy singing it) and looking for something to use with my transportation theme. I started with the woman swallowing the vehicles (which is darn silly!) but then realized she didn’t have to do that for it to work. So here’s what I came up with. Feel free to use it, BUT if you share it on your blog, in a presentation, whatever, PLEASE give me credit for the text and link here. THANKS!

There was a young woman who rode in a car

I don’t know why she rode in a car. Maybe she’ll go far.

There was a young woman who rode in a truck

I hope it didn’t get stuck, that rickety old truck!

She rode in a truck to catch the car,

But I don’t know why she rode in the car. Maybe she’ll go far.

Continue with:

Rode in a boat….I hope it could float, when she rode in the boat!

Train….It wasn’t a strain to ride on the train!

Plane….I hope it didn’t rain when she rode in the plane!

Hot air balloon….Will she get there soon, if she rides in a balloon?

And the felt pieces:

Somewhere between my first and second schools this morning, the boat disappeared. Will have to re-make that one! But all the patterns (except for the car, truck, and woman, which I free-handed) are from Totline’s Everyday Patterns.

The kids seemed to enjoy this one, and I had them fill in the names of all the vehicles and help me on the last line: “Maybe she’ll go far!” If you’d like to play this one on your guitar or ukulele, the chords are here (there are only two; it’s easy!).

The flannel friday roundup today will be hosted by Cate at Storytiming. Somehow I missed that this week was “Post-Easter-Sale-Storytime-Prop Extravaganza” but I’m gonna be a rebel and post this anyway, since it’s been SO LONG (too long!). As always, click the link to the right to see our Pinterest page with ALL the flannels (and the tab above to see only mine. But why limit yourself?).

4 Responses to “Flannel Friday: There Was a Young Woman Who Rode in a Car”

  1. Miss Courtney April 21, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    I love that you used “young woman.” Now, I’m thinking of endless possibilities.

  2. Maureen April 20, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    Love it! What a great rhyme and easy to remember because of the foundation of the old song. I’ll be pinning this.

  3. K @ Storytime Fun April 20, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Very cute! I can see why the kids enjoyed it!

    Oh, and welcome back! I hope life is calmer for you now. :-)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flannel Friday Round Up: April 20th 2012 « - April 21, 2012

    [...] of MissMaryLibrary authored this original twist on that classic ode to gluttonous grannies: There Was a Young Lady Who Rode in a Car. (You’re sending this in to publishers right?) Great work, Mary! Welcome back lady, we [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,649 other followers

