Flannel Friday! Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons

25 May

It’s no secret that I LUUURRRRVVEEEE Pete the Cat by Eric Litwin and illustrated by James Dean. I loved the first book, liked the second book, and now am in love again with Pete’s latest adventure. And I was inspired to make a flannel out of it.

Here’s Pete wearing his favorite shirt with its 4 groovy buttons. I photocopied a page from the book to use as my template:

One by one, each of the buttons pops off and rolls away. Does Pete cry? “Goodness no! Buttons come, and buttons go.” When all of the buttons are gone, Pete discovers he still has 1 button left: his belly button!

Here he’s showing it off, along with the 4 buttons. Each button is 2 layers of felt with a tiny bit of velcro attached to the back to keep it on the shirt (but not pull on the felt too much). The shirt is glued down only on the outside edges, so it can be pulled open to reveal his belly button.:

Finally, I also made a set of numbers so that we can count down how many buttons he has left, and as a visual clue for when we sing: “My buttons, my buttons, my 4 groovy buttons!”

Go Pete!

The roundup today will be hosted by Melissa at Mel’s Desk.  Check there later to see all of this week’s flannels! For more information about Flannel Friday, visit our website. To see all past flannels (its a lot of flannels!) click on the icon to the right to see our pinterest page.

Happy flanneling! It’s all good!

7 Responses to “Flannel Friday! Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons”

  1. Dani June 6, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    Thank you for sharing! This is so adorable. Definetly have to make this for my class.

  2. Miss Courtney May 26, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    Perfect flannel. I read this two times last night to my son. I was thinking what a great flannel story it would make. I think I saw your post for a Pete book in the past, which led me to take it home. Thank you so much! Bobo and I are in love.

  3. donnaquilt May 26, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    This is my new favorite picture book. It makes me smile!

  4. K @ Storytime Fun May 26, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    LOL! I LUUURRRRVVEEEE Pete the Cat, too! I am considering the idea of using him and another popular book character in all my weekly storytimes in June. Just need to figure it all out ~ and make sure I have enough material to make it last the whole month. This flannel will definitely be on my To Share list!

    Thanks for the ideas. I especially like that you included the numbers. I do a lot with counting in my programs so my storytime families will love this!

    Hope you are having a relaxing weekend!
    K

  5. Holly May 25, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    From a fellow Pete-lover – this is genius! Thanks for sharing!!

  6. Anne (@sotomorrow) May 25, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    Love it! I’m going to make this when I get back from leave.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Toddler Storytime: Favourite Felt Stories, Part 2 - Jbrary - April 27, 2016

    […] The book is storytime gold, so it’s no surprise that the felt story is too.  With toddlers, I teach them a little dance to accompany the refrain which makes it more interactive.  Because most of them have read the book it’s a great chance to talk about telling stories in multiple ways.  You can get the template here, but I also love these versions by Library Village, Libraryland, and Miss Mary Liberry. […]

Leave a comment