Flannel Friday! Conejito by Margaret Read MacDonald

8 Jun

Conejito, retold by Margaret Read MacDonald, is based on a folktale from Panama. It’s a fun story with lots of repetition and, of course, a happy ending. I have been sharing this story with the preschoolers as part of my Bunnies storytime, and they’ve been enjoying it – even those who don’t speak any Spanish (there are Spanish words throughout, but they’re all explained and easily understood in context).

We start with conejito (little bunny) talking to his mother, and preparing to go up the hill to visit his Tia Mónica (Aunt Monica). When he gets there, she is going to feed him “cakes, cookies and every good thing” until he is gordito, gordito, gordito (fat, fat, fat!).

I gave mom some rockin’ glasses.

Conejito heads up the mountain, singing…

I have a sweet old Auntie,

My tía Mónica,

And when she goes out dancing,

They all say “Ooh la la!”

…until he runs THUNK into a Tiger. Señor Tigre.

Señor Tigre wants to eat conejito for lunch, but conejito convinces him to wait until he returns from Tía Mónica’s house because he will be gordito gordito gordito. Right now he is too skinny – flaquito flaquito flaquito!

Tigre agrees and conejito continues on his way singing and dancing until he runs smack into Mr. Lion – Señor León.

Conejito also convinces Señor Leon to wait to eat conejito, and he continues up the hill until he runs THUNK into Tía Mónica.

She’s fancy. She has a flower tucked behind her ear.

Conejito spends the summer with her, dancing, playing, and eating cakes, cookies and every good thing (but also fruits, vegetables, and fresh mountain water so he will be strong, strong, strong!). But when it’s time to head back to his Mamá, he tells Tía Mónica his problem.

Her solution is this: He will roll down the hill in a barrilito (little barrel). If Lion or Tiger stop him, he will tell them the mountain is on fire (Tía’s made a fire to make smoke) and they’d better run for it.

Conejito fits under the barrel.

Conejito DOES meet Lion and Tiger, but tells them:

The mountain’s on fire,

conejito is too,

you’d better run Señor León

or you’ll be barbecue!

They, of course, run away so conejito is able to continue rolling down the hill until he reaches his mamá. All’s well that ends well!

I’m going to learn this story so I’ll be able to tell it without the book. It shouldn’t be too hard to learn. I won’t know it perfectly, but well enough! I think this would make a fun readers’ theater too! The book contains the notes for singing the song about Auntie Monica, but I ended up making up my own tune. The kids liked chiming in on the “ooh la la!” The book also has a fox in addition to tiger and lion, but I decided to shorten the flannel version a little.

I got all the animal templates from Clker.com: rabbit, lion and tiger. You can also get the lion and tiger in two parts – head and body separated – from the same site.

Today’s roundup will be hosted by Katie at Recipe for Reading. To see all past flannels, click the icon to the right.

Happy flanneling!

9 Responses to “Flannel Friday! Conejito by Margaret Read MacDonald”

  1. Amanda M. July 11, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    I love your Conejito flannel pieces. I used this book last summer in one of a series of multicultural folktale storytimes. The children enjoyed the repetition and rhythm of the story!

  2. Kathy June 10, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    I love the tia Monica song! I think I’ll do this as a flannel, then we’ll all sing the tia Monica song with the verses. It’s a great song for learning parts of the body in spanish

  3. jane June 10, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    Your flannels are gorgeous. I love the story. My library community is very diverse…it is time for me to add some bi-lingual flannel board stories. thanks for the inspiration ~ jane

  4. K @ Storytime Fun June 9, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

    Love your bunnies! Mama’s glasses are “rockin” but I think I like Tia Monica’s flower the most. So pretty!

    This story reminds me of a nursery rhyme or a part of a fairy tale but I think it was a pig rolling down the hill in a barrel. Hmmm… I’ll have to look for it.

    Fun story and beautiful flannel pieces! Thanks for sharing it this week.
    K

  5. Tara Chmielowski June 9, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    These are really gorgeous!

  6. missmaryliberry June 8, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    Thanks, Katie! I knew the Tía Mónica song was more common, but honestly I’ve never heard it (or haven’t heard it recently) so I wasn’t familiar with the tune. I just made one up! Now I’ll look for José-Luis Orozco’s version!

  7. Katie Cunningham June 8, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    What a beautiful flannel! I love this story. It’s fun to pair with Jose-Luís Orozco’s “Tia Mónica” song too. Thanks so much for sharing this; it’s awesome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Searching for the Perfect Bunny Flannel | Library Lemon Times - February 28, 2015

    […] Miss Merry Liberry’s Conejito is cute with a great story and moral AND is multicultural. Win win […]

  2. Flannel Friday Round-Up June 8th « Recipe for Reading - June 8, 2012

    […] Mary Liberry” (ya gotta love her blog name) shares a cute bunny tale Conejito (story retold by Margaret Read MacDonald) that is based on a folktale from Panama.  Her bunnies […]

Leave a comment