Flannel Friday: Counting Sheep

12 Oct

In the fall I always do a bedtime-themed storytime. It just feels like the right time of year to be thinking about long winter naps, so I break out the cozy (and silly and crazy and chaotic) stories about going to sleep. One book that I think is particularly gorgeous (and works great with my bilingual crew) is Sarah Weeks’ Counting Ovejas, illustrated by David Diaz. Bilingual text plus gorgeous, multi-colored sheep is a win in my book.

I decided to make a flannel board of it. However, I realized that as each sheep comes and goes on the same page, it would be like “drive-by flanneling.” None of the sheep stay on the page very long. Also, for the higher numbers, I’d be making multiples: 10, TEN! yellow sheep. So, the flannelboard very quickly morphed into something like my monster guessing game flannel.

The kids count with me as we put each one on the board. Then, I ask them “what color is sheep number 6?” So they’ve got to recognize the number, and then put the color with it. The teachers actually really liked this idea and I gave my pattern to a couple so they could recreate the activity.

After identifying all the colors, I turn the board around and take one off (no peeking!). The kids then have to tell me which color, or number, or both, is missing. They had fun!

Also: when I asked the kids what animal some people count when they can’t fall asleep, one young lady said: “I want to count zebras!” Hmmm…

This is an original pattern of mine, and I’m sharing it with you here. Feel free to make your own sheep! However, if you post the pattern on your site, be sure and give me credit.

Today’s roundup is hosted by Sarah at Read, Sarah, Read! And if you’d like to see all past flannels, click on the icon to the right.

Happy flanneling!

7 Responses to “Flannel Friday: Counting Sheep”

  1. Katie Eckert January 28, 2016 at 1:21 pm #

    Adorable!

  2. Miss Courtney October 13, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Yes, I love the number recognition, too. I could use that with my older storytime group and also my son!

  3. Kathryn Roach October 13, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    Thanks for sharing your great ideas for adapting the flannel to enhance the book! I love the game/activity extension idea and the pattern means I will make a set soon! Thanks again!

  4. Amanda Scurry October 13, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    Oh so cute! Love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sheep – Toddler Storytime | Jen in the Library - October 24, 2017

    […] RESOURCES FOR MORE IDEAS: one little librarian – toddler time: feeling sheep-ish today! Miss Mary Liberry – Flannel Friday: Counting Sheep The Wielded Pen – Baa – Sheep! – A Storytime […]

  2. Counting with Toddlers | 12 Month Programming Plan - November 16, 2016

    […] Source: Miss Mary […]

  3. Flannel Friday: Counting Sheep! | storytime katie - January 18, 2013

    […] this week, I have adorable sheep that Mary from Miss Mary Liberry was kind enough to share and give a pattern […]

Leave a comment