Flannel Friday: Sorting Socks Game

7 Dec

socks

I have to start with a shout-out to my friend Becky who runs Denver Craft Ninjas (and who has just started an awesome new crafting party business, Kunoichi Craft Events): after several felt-related craft projects, she found herself left with far more felt than she could ever hope to use up. So she very kindly donated a chunk of it to the library for flannelboard making! That’s how I was able to create the clothes dryer below: with a large piece of cream-colored felt courtesy of Becky and the Denver Craft Ninjas.

socks1

I told the kids that I did my laundry before I came, and now I needed their help to sort the socks into pairs. If you’ve got a small enough group you can invite children up to pull out a sock and add it to the flannelboard. If its mate is already up there, they can put them together to make a pair. We identify the colors, too. If it’s a larger group like I had today, I do the sock pulling and putting. But the kids help me figure out what color we’ve got and if its mate is already on the board.

SOCK MONSTER!

SOCK MONSTER!

The kids had a great time with this game – the yelled out the colors and quickly noted a match. It’s a great addition to my clothing-themed storytime!

socks3

The clothes dryer is a box with a hole cut in (a kleenex box would work, although mine is a bit larger and sturdier), covered in cream-colored felt wrapped like a gift. I glued two pieces of felt over the hole but there’s plenty of room for me (or a kid) to stick my hand in and remove socks. I added black circles with paint for a little flair.

I’m really proud of this project and so far, the kids have LOVED it!

Today’s roundup will be hosted by Cate at Storytiming. And to see all past flannels, click on the icon to the right to visit our Pinterest page!

Happy flanneling!

20 Responses to “Flannel Friday: Sorting Socks Game”

  1. Carol June 8, 2018 at 11:05 pm #

    This is so cute! I love the washing machine as as an added effect. The kids would love it too!

  2. Rachel January 5, 2016 at 8:08 am #

    I LOVE this idea!!!! I will be making one for my son’s birthday coming up! One question though, what is a flannelboard?

  3. Margie Martin Gabe November 17, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    I have got to make this for my preschool class. They would love it. Mittens would be fun too. Could go with 3 little kittens or the story The Mitten.

  4. jane January 7, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    This is adorable and I believe I will be making socks for Piper very soon.

  5. ahicks2012 December 31, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    This is amazing! I love it and I’m totally going to make it for an upcoming storytime I’m doing on getting dressed. So creative!

  6. Tracey December 21, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Love love love the dryer!! And the pulling the socks out of the dryer is genius! If only I could afford to buy enough “real” socks so I wouldn’t have to make them. Hmmm….

  7. Library Quine December 7, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    I love flannels which give the kids a chance to handle the flannel pieces. This is on my to do list to read with the book ‘Socks’ by Nick Sharratt.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Storytime – Socks | Stratford Library Association - December 4, 2020

    […] A Pair of Socks • Written by Stuart J. Murphy • Illustrated by Lois Elhert • Published by HarperCollins • Presented by Zest2Teach A lonely sock searches the house for its mate. https://video.link/w/Ycvxb Miss Mary Liberry has directions for making a little felt clothes dryer and socks: https://missmaryliberry.com/2012/12/07/flannel-friday-sorting-socks-game/ […]

  2. Letter “S” Storytime – K the Librarian - April 22, 2019

    […] was the best ever! I got the idea for this flannel from Miss Mary Liberry, but I also incorporated a rhyme with it that we sang to the tune of “Friere Jacques” […]

  3. Storytime Share: BLUE | Learning to Play the Bassoon - January 29, 2018

    […] “Sock Matching Game” flannelboard […]

  4. Socks Storytime | Miss Mariah's Library - November 9, 2017

    […] we played this awesome sock sorting game thanks to Miss Mary Liberry. I had so much fun making all the different pairs of socks. And, I don’t know how I got so […]

  5. Week Fifty-Seven: STEAM Storytime: Numbers! | STEM in Libraries - May 4, 2016

    […] -Cardboard box “washing machine” […]

  6. Socks -Elizabeth Lindsay / Nick Sharratt | Let's read in English - February 17, 2016

    […] pranie i uporządkować z uczniami skarpetki nie do pary to polecam zajrzeć tutaj –  klik. Udanej […]

  7. Bundle Up for Storytime - ALSC BlogALSC Blog - January 13, 2016

    […] Mittens. We adapted this prop from Miss Mary Liberry’s Sorting Socks game. This is a great activity to talk about colors & […]

  8. Five Pairs of Dirty Socks | Storytime Bandit - February 19, 2015

    […] rhyme from a co-worker (I did find a similar rhyme from a previous post). They could be used as a sock sorting game as others have done, but they are a bit large and it would have to be a small group. I also did not […]

  9. Socks & Shoes | Teeny Weeny Library - October 27, 2014

    […] played a sock matching game.  I borrowed this idea from Miss Mary Liberry but sadly didn’t have enough time to make cool felt socks or a washing machine.  (I admit I […]

  10. Get dressed! Clothes Storytime | thelibraryann - October 10, 2014

    […] This Sorting Socks Game just popped up in my feed from Miss Mary Liberry and I will be making it and using it next time I […]

  11. Flannel Friday: Socks Match-Up | storytime katie - October 10, 2014

    […] This amazing flannelboard came from Miss Mary Liberry. […]

  12. Getting Dressed | AnnesLibraryLife - January 22, 2013

    […] I got this awesome idea from Miss Mary Liberry. […]

  13. Flannel Friday Round Up: 12-7-2012 « - December 8, 2012

    […] Sort Some Socks with Miss Mary Liberry. That reminds me, I need to get my laundry out of the dryer! […]

Leave a comment