Ukulele in Storytime: Sleeping Bunnies

10 Mar

Hi! Welcome to another installment of watch Mary make a fool of herself ukulele in storytime! Today we’re learning “Sleeping Bunnies,” a song I first heard on Kathy Reid-Naiman’s cd “Tickles and Tunes.”  It’s super easy to play on uke, and SUPER fun for the kids! When they start hopping, the storytime rug becomes a preschool mosh pit!

Happy playing!

9 Responses to “Ukulele in Storytime: Sleeping Bunnies”

  1. The Library Lady (@librarylady61) December 5, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    I am a very novice uke player, but I plucked up (so to speak) the courage to try using this song a few weeks ago and used it again this week. The kids LOVE it–my 3 and up set were all over the room hopping today. Thank you so much for this song!

  2. Dorothy March 13, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

    Thank you so much for this! I have a ukulele, but my lack of practice (*cough*and rhythm*cough*) has kept me from trying it out in my storytime. Thanks to you, I can add Sleeping Bunnies and Bingo to songs that I can eventually play! 🙂

  3. LibLily March 10, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    This is awesome! I’ve wanted to learn how to play the ukulele for a while and you have inspired me. I just ordered a ukulele & I can’t wait to get it in my hands so I can practice. Thanks for the videos & instructions!

  4. Amanda Murray March 10, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    This is awesome, Mary!
    I have been singing Sleeping Bunnies for many years – it’s so cute & fun & versatile – I have substituted all kinds of animals, even vehicles and weather patterns, for the bunnies.
    Using the uke adds an extra dimension, it would really allow you to play up the slow/fast, quiet/loud aspects of the song….and it’s something fun and unexpected.

    Did you know how to read music and play another instrument before you started learning the uke? Is there music written specifically for uke, or can you use sheet music for guitar? Where do you find your sheet music and directions for hand positions etc.?

    Thanks for being brave enough to make these training videos – I can’t wait to see more of them!

  5. donnaquilt March 10, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Way cool! You are getting better and more confident!! It shows. I’ve got Row, row, row your boat down. Kind of. 🙂 I need to get back at it. Keep posting. It helps to see you in action! Donna

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sleeping Bunnies | Storytime Ukulele - August 11, 2016

    […] chords are largely indebted to Miss Mary Liberry who includes a very useful instructional video for the song and some beautifully simple finger […]

  2. “The Letter I” preschool storytime | yogibrarian - January 20, 2016

    […] hop, hop, hop Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop Source: Check this ukulele version by Miss Mary […]

  3. Chicks and Ducks and Bunnies Oh My! | itsybitsymom - March 26, 2014

    […] https://missmaryliberry.wordpress.com/2013/03/10/ukulele-in-storytime-sleeping-bunnies/) Thanks again Miss […]

  4. In Case You Missed It! | storytime katie - April 14, 2013

    […] Mary is singing again with the ukelele! I’m still trying to get motivated to learn and these posts […]

Leave a comment