Flannel Friday: My Hat It Has Three Corners

28 Jun

This week I read John Rocco’s Super Hair-o and the Barber of Doom and was inspired to create a hair-themed storytime. But when I wasn’t able to find as many stories as I liked, I expanded the theme to include hats. Ah. NOW we’ve got a good storytime!

I poked around (with a very long stick) the Flannel Friday pinterest page and saw Mollie’s version of “My Hat it Has Three Corners” and was immediately inspired.  See, when I was very little, my family lived in Germany while my father was on an exchange scientist program through the USAF. And this song was one of the ones I learned to sing in German (and one of the few that I remember): Mein Hut, der hat drei Ecken, Drei Ecken hat mein hut. Und hätt er nicht drei Ecken, so wär es nicht mein Hut. So I HAD to make a flannelboard!

hat

(the word corners going around the corner was unintentional. I ran out of space. But I like it!)

My hat, it has three corners

Three corners has my hat.

If my hat had not three corners,

It would not be my hat!

(Tune)

Now here’s the extra fun part: When you sing it, you do actions when you say these words: Hat (tap head), Three (hold up 3 fingers), Corners (tap elbow). Sing it once, doing all the motions and saying all the words. Then turn over the hat picture and sing again, but DO NOT say hat. Just tap your head. Sing a third time with hat and three turned over, and do not say those words but keep doing the actions. For the final time, turn over hat, three, and corners, and sing without saying those words. FUN!

Today’s roundup is hosted by Bridget.  To see all the flannels, check out our pinterest page by clicking the icon to the right!

Happy flanneling!

4 Responses to “Flannel Friday: My Hat It Has Three Corners”

  1. Kathryn Roach June 28, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

    This is a really fun idea! I know the song, I’ve never thought to use it this way. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Bridget R. Wilson June 28, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

    Thanks for sharing, Mary. I’m looking forward to trying this out the next time I do a hats story time.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. storytime: hats | k. e. bogart - October 2, 2013

    […] Cornered Hat: I remembered this song from grade school after reading it here but decided not to do a flannelboard. I just printed out the first line with an image for hat, […]

  2. Flannel Friday: My Hat It Has Three Corners | House stuff - July 15, 2013

    […] Read more… […]

Leave a comment